jump to navigation

Still working it out 6 March, 2006

Posted by possum in Parenting.
trackback

I went to “interview” a possible day care lady last week. When I say interview I really just mean going to visit her home and have a bit of a chat. She was OK but I didn’t walk home thinking that everything was great and going back to work would be fine. It was a little hard to tell my boss that I wasn’t super impressed with this lady and I’m going to look at other options because she looked after his kids. It’s not that there was anything wrong with her, it really just brought it home that I’m not ready to leave my little girl to go to work.

There are a ton of other things going on too that complicate my choices. It’s not just a matter of do I want to go back and I poured it all out to my boss on Friday. It had the desired effect of giving myself a bit more time to work out what I’m doing. It’s becoming somewhat clearer to me that while I would like to work and I enjoy working from home I don’t really want to put my baby in care so I can work in the office.

In the interests of exploring all options I’m going to see what other family day care is available. I’ve also asked a friend to trial being a mothers helper for me. Basically she will just come in for a few hours a day and entertain the kiddo while I’ll work. I’m hoping that it might even go well enough that I could head into the office for a couple of hours and leave them at home. Maybe I would be able to convince my boss that I don’t really need to be in the office if I can be contacted during certain hours on certain days. We will see, this friend doesn’t have a lot of experience looking after kids so it will be a learning experience for her. She might not even like it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment